Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Widows and Orphans

Posted by Stacees 
Widows and Orphans
May 22, 2012 12:04PM
Hello, I just finished listening to Gary's cd's for the second time and starting the third. I've been practicing with play money for 2 months. I really want to start trading widows and orphans with real money but have been extremely unsuccessful! Do any of you play W&O during this zone? It seems the moves are so quick there is no sitting at the piano. Also when looking at the trends on RTT it seems that everything starting today really started yesterday so I feel like I missed the entrance. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Stacee
Re: Widows and Orphans
May 22, 2012 01:51PM
Do not do real money until you have more success at play money. I do a once a month PRACTICE W/O trade.
May 22, 2012 02:39PM
Thanks for responding. Are you able to sit on your practice trades long enough during this zone to complete a WO trade before the stock falls again? In my practice trades I have been unable to find a trade that stays up long enough to sell calls on.
Thanks
Stacee
May 23, 2012 10:34AM
For May I have bought AAPL as it went down. I sold a call against it the WEEK OF expiration. I made about $6,000. I wanted to use the $600.00 strike but had to settle for the $580.00. (300 shares) So virtually I own 300 shares of AAPL at the average of $545.37658. I am still wondering how the coin of .37658 would look.winking smiley I did not sit on the piano for that one. Back when I was taking Gary's class (1-5) AAPL was one of the stocks I practiced on...and it was around $79 - $89 bucks when I first started trading real money. I want to test the weekly calls and see how they might work...just thinking....