Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Learning to Snipe

Posted by rookie30 
Learning to Snipe
September 03, 2013 10:54AM
First of all, I am no pro, but I am learning how to earn a living by picking the low fruit from the tree. I am going to walk you through a trade I placed this morning. I hope this will help some of you who are trying to learn how to trade small charts. I am struggling as I use big charts, but I have a style that works right now, so I will continue to practice off big charts.

Ok- I traded NFLX. It is one of my expert stocks. As most of you know, I trade off the 13. I use this chart as my bread and butter. I will sometimes snipe a trade and never care what the 55 says. I can sometimes snipe from the 13 as long as I am thrusting through resistance or support, breaking previous day's high (calls), market going in my direction, MF in my direction, and ADX in my direction, and the "E" formed.

Take a look at what happened with NFLX at around 10:20AM. It broke through resistance (real body high at (9:30). So took a sizable position at 10:20ish, only looking to ride momentum. All the indicators I mentioned above were in alignment. I knew there would be reservations during the first 1 hour or so of market open based on the threat of war. I also knew I did not want to stay in a position long because I am not as well versed on what is going on with this threat on war as I should be (my lack of studying). I knew I wanted a crumb. I bought calls at 10:20ish AM at 287.45 and sold at 11:00 for 290.55. I am buying much larger positions now, so this $3 move served me very well financially. My golden rule is, win or lose, once I sell a position, I close up shop for the day. I am finish for the day with the stock market. I will look at it tonight and set up possible trades for tomorrow.