Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

May Survivor Weekend I - Seeking info and tips

Posted by sonicwave 
May Survivor Weekend I - Seeking info and tips
April 14, 2015 05:29PM
I signed up for May Survivor Weekend I and am very excited as this will be my first in-person GW class. Since I will be making a long trip from California to the class, I wanted to make sure that I get the most out of it. I am a veteran student that is making slow steady progress learning and grasping the concepts. I wanted to know about the following:

- If anyone who took Survivor Weekend before, had any tips/suggestions for me about taking notes, where to sit, how early to show up and stuff like that?
- Logistics wise if anyone had recommendations for hotels in Rocky Mount
- If anyone else was going to the event. I would love to meet as many fellow GW students as possible!

Happy Trading!
Re: May Survivor Weekend I - Seeking info and tips
April 14, 2015 08:40PM
Be prepared to take copious notes. I can type much faster than I can write notes, so I always had a laptop with me to type out my notes. If you choose to go this route, bring a small 10-20 ft extension cord. Also, a small plug extender so you can share with others. Wall outlets are available in the conference room, but are in limited supply.

When I went, I made sure to exchange email addresses with a few people sitting near me so that we could compare / share notes after class—just in case anyone missed something.

Arrive at least 40 minutes early on the first evening. The entrance line will be long and will take everyone a while to process in as materials are picked up, names are checked off of the class roster, badges or lanyards are checked for authenticity, and NDAs are signed.