Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Progressing on Big Charts

Posted by rookie30 
Progressing on Big Charts
November 15, 2014 04:03PM
I have been away from the forum for a while. I have been working my tail off, learning how to trade big charts. I am finally to a point where I feel I can talk about a few things from my experiences. Hopefully, someone will find value in my approach.

First of all, I am not great at this, but I have had successful trades. Those of you who were familiar with me when I started trading, I traded AAPL with a lot of assistance and guidance from a mentor. Well, the only thing that has changed is, my mentor is distant and has forced me to trade alone and learn what I need to know with no assistance. His point is, I needed to do this work because I should know how to trade well. He is right, so I did it by reading, going back through 2-5, and practicing. Well, I have done some trading also.

I have one expert stock-Apple! I have two other stocks that are in my back pocket, but I do not trade them often. I trade AAPL 90-95% of the time. The other two stocks that I like are Visa and FB. Apple is my bread and butter. Visa is my support stock-if AAPL does not offer me a trade within a week after selling a position. FB is sitting on the shelf right now. I do not like anything in this stock I am seeing right now. I will hold it because I have made money by trading it in the past.

I use the Daily/55 or 233/34. During this time of the year, I am only using the Daily/55. I use the 21 to enter all trades. I know we were taught to use the 8 in 2-5. The 21 works well for me because I want that "E" on my action chart. I also take a look at my weekly for long term strength confirmation. The weekly is not one of the indicators that will be a deal breaker for me, but I have a lot more confidence in the strength and length of the trade if it is going in the right direction.