Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Swing Trading

Posted by rookie30 
Swing Trading
October 27, 2014 03:13PM
I have successfully Swing Traded a couple times over the past couple of weeks. I studied tirelessly for several weeks before placing real money trades. First of all, I am not confident enough to "flap my jaws" too much about Swing Trading. 90% of my account was built based on intraday trading. I can share a few things that are helping me tremendously. First of all, my job requires me to be available most of the day, so I needed to choose a style of trading that is less active or requires minimal work during the work day.

I focus on 2 stocks and watch 4. It is just too much work and takes too much time to trade more than 4 or 5 (my opinion). My primary stock is Apple with FB running a very close 2nd. Both stocks are beasts right now. I actually bought a VERY large position- January Calls in Apple. I bought shortly after it stabilized above $100 ( a day after earnings). I am up about 60+% on my "deep in the money" position. The guy who mentored me and happens to be a multimillionaire (from trading) trades AAPL about 80% and FB the other 20% of his trades. I have mentioned before, but this guy is one of Gary's original students. He talks about the Dennys meetings, going to Gary's house for sessions, etc. My mentor borrowed $10,000 from the bank to cover Gary's costs and fund his initial basket. HIs wife was livid, but he convinced her that this was the business that was going to set them free from financial stresses. Approximately 10 years later he is a millionaire. He has mastered the art of Swing Trading, but he trades ONLY TWO STOCKS!