Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Hello Forum

Posted by dbanko 
Hello Forum
September 10, 2014 08:34PM
Hello all,

I joined the forum about a month ago and am very excited about all that is here. The amount of information that is shared between the members is unreal and very helpful. I hope to be able to contribute to the forum in a positive way in the near future.

I am a former GW student (2004 – 2006) and have taken the 1-5 classes, Advanced Classes, RTP and DE. You would think that after all of that, along with the years that have passed, my family and I would be sitting on our own private island out in the Pacific. In 2005 I sold my interest in my business and made the leap into trying to trade full time. I gave myself a 2 year time frame to make it all work. If at the end of the 2 years trading was not working, I would find a new direction/career or start another business. Well, it did not work for me in the 2 year window so I started another business.

What went wrong? I thought I was doing everything by the book. I practiced for a year before trading with real money, had QCharts, Briefing, CNBC on 24/7 you name it. After 7 years of being away from all of this I can see as plain as day what a dumb ass I was. Here is a short list of some of my major infractions.

1. Going from being a full time “employee” not being able to look at the market all day to someone watching candles paint on a 5 min chart.
2. Trading WAY too much. I mean WAAAAYY too much
3. Giving myself a time frame in order to make trading work.
4. After taking a loss I would instantly look for another trade to try and make it up.
5. Thinking of my trades in terms of dollar amounts and not thinking of them in terms of good or bad trades.
6. Most importantly I had the wrong mindset