Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

HELP W/ TOS

Posted by C1891 
HELP W/ TOS
March 06, 2014 06:20AM
IS ANYBODY WILLING TO HELP ME SET UP CHARTS ON TOS. I AM A FORMER WSB STUDENT AND WAS FAMILIER W/ Q CHARTS. I HAVE THE CHARTING SETTINGS BUT AM STRUGGLING. ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!
Re: HELP W/ TOS
March 06, 2014 06:42AM
C1891,

The ThinkOrSwim website provides many excellent tutorial videos demonstrating how to setup and use the software. I recommend watching at least the chart studies video and the chart styles video. The first will describe how to add chart studies to your charts while the latter will detail changing time frames and type of chart displayed.

The tutorial videos are available here: [tlc.thinkorswim.com]

After watching the videos, refer to the GW settings in your manual and compare to the table below. In TOS you should add the studies from the purple column and change their settings to match the GW settings listed in the brown column.

To use custom time periods, follow the directions below.

For 233 chart, use Style > Intraday > 180 Days > Custom...
For 55, 34, 21, 13, and 8 charts, use Style > Intraday > 20 Days > Custom...

When entering times in the custom field, you may use the slider; but it's much easier to just type the desired time in the Time Aggregation Period block.

Tip: type 0353 (3 hours 53 minutes) for a 233 chart.

March 06, 2014 07:22PM
Thanks so much Robert! This is a great help and I really appreciate you taking the time to relay all of this information. You seem to be a man of great knowledge and always seem willing to help! Thanks again.
April 27, 2014 10:16PM
Robert,