Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Selling Options

Posted by NCTrader 
Selling Options
July 09, 2014 05:14PM
A quick question to see if anyone focuses on selling options, collecting theta, and using time decay to your advantage. I have very little experience in this area but have been testing strategies in my practice account. I can see why GW suggested that selling a naked put correctly is one of the safest trades out there. It is kind of like being in Vegas but having the house edge in your favor. I intentionally entered several sloppy practice trades last week when various 233 charts signaled down. Nothing really to support the trades, weekly and daily not quite ready, just one signal on one chart expecting the market to weaken a bit this week. I was selling calls at or slightly out of the money with three weeks until expiration. I also bought at the money puts with 2 to 3 months of time to see how both sides performed. The long puts did as expected. Most are slightly down, maybe made up the spread, or slightly profitable. The short out of the money calls that were in that 2 to 3 week sweet spot when decay accelerates are up 35% to 40% (buck and a half or so on the option). I also tested a few call credit spreads with similar results. Curious if anyone has experience in this area and can recommend a suggested reading list.

Thanks!

NCT
Re: Selling Options
July 10, 2014 05:40PM
I'm in the same boat I just sold my first options this week. I found a lot of useful info at tastytrade.com.
August 22, 2014 12:40PM