Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Respecting this game!

Posted by rookie30 
Respecting this game!
October 08, 2013 07:47PM
The areas I have learned that negatively affected me the most were......

1. Confidence
2. Fear
3.Discipline
5.Emotions -second guessing

I did not think I was smart enough, so I had very limited confidence. I talked a big game, but inside, I lacked the confidence it takes to become a good trader. When you convince yourself that the terminology is too advanced, or this work is for the extremely smart and world's most intelligent, you have defeated yourself before you started.

I was scared to take the chance. I knew if I lost, I was going to get that look from the wife, so when I started trading, I was trading in fear the entire period of time. Having successes, helped overcome fear. Having money to trade that is not designated for household necessities or emergency savings makes trading much more comfortable and enjoyable. I would many times place a trade, but shortly after entering, it would have a very, very small pull back, so based on my level of fear, I exited the trade. What happens? Yes, the stock turns and goes back in your direction for several bars. I developed a loss tolerance amount. Some say, do not look at your account. Sheeeeees.... I needed to see what was going on when the market was moving. It is tough to ask a person with very little funds to not pay attention to their account. I started off with a loss tolerance of $100. My trades were from $1000 to $1200. I had $2500 in my account. If at anytime, I saw a loss of $100, I was bailing. I got sick and felt dumb, but I was out. Now if I feel a need to bail, it is more relative to levels of support or resistance being compromised or broken. I find that those areas are about where I am comfortable with a loss (never really comfortable with a loss).