Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Get Earnings and Seasonal Trends - Subscribe Today!

Advanced

Think Or Swim GW Chart Settings

Posted by robert 
Re: Think Or Swim GW Chart Settings
August 08, 2020 12:33PM
That's odd. I get wildly different results from these MACD settings in TOS versus Alchem. I've tried fiddling with exponential settings on and off and various types of MACD calculations in TOS including the ones you listed. All to no avail.

Can you confirm that you are, in fact, getting identical results in the MACD? Compare the daily MACD numbers for any given stock, for starters.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/09/2020 10:59AM by HouseOfFabu.
September 12, 2020 03:08PM
Hello Robert,

This thread helped me with transitioning from QCharts to T/S platform. I am a grad of WSB, and am just switching over to T/S. One main question remaining - Can you tell me if you use Simple, Exponential, Wilders or Hull for average type on the RSI, MACD, and DMI?

Kevin

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/12/2020 03:41PM by KevinB.
TCB
September 12, 2020 06:58PM
Hi, Kevin

The MACD = Exponential, RSI = Wilders, DMI = Wilders.
September 12, 2020 09:27PM
Are we sure on using Wilders for the RSI????

I had been using simple for a long spell now. I just went and checked. smiling smiley

When I compare TOS with Alchem charts, the only way it will match is if I use Simple for the RSI. Using Wilders causes the two charting packages to not match up anymore.

Also I want to note that Alchem charts is THE recommended charting app that Gary recommends everyone to use. Since there is no way to modify RSI in Alchem charts I can only "assume" it is set the way Gary would want it to be in order to match what he has in Qcharts.

Maybe someone with Qcharts can verify if these indicators match perfectly with Alchem charts. I'm only assuming that they do match.

This image is from Alchem showing TSLA using simple.

This is from TOS showing TSLA using Wilders